The instruments

Piccolo

The Piccolo

Belonging to the flute family, the Piccolo is a wind instrument and very specifically a Woodwind (which can also be made of metal). Also called the "small flute", the instrument is half the size of the large flute. Let's discover the Piccolo.

The instrument

It can be in C and more rarely in D flat, in which case it is called a transposing instrument. It is the highest instrument in the symphony orchestra. Because of its particular colour, it often doubles the great flute in the upper octave and its timbre is very piercing in the tutti, which increases the orchestral brilliance. In the lower register, however, it is described as "shaky" and "fragile" according to instrumentation texts.

piccolo
Piccolo

The Piccolo in the repertoire

C. W. Gluck (1714-1787), who introduced it in his operas, called it the "little flageolet". Since then, L. V. Beethoven (1770-1827) has given it an independent role in the "Storm" of his Pastoral Symphony. Other composers were interested in its dominant tone and wrote concertante pieces for it. The end-of-dinner song, known as the "drinking song" in the Freischütz by Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826), shows a pungent irony through the trills of two piccolos. Hector Berlioz (1803-1869), in his Symphonie fantastique and Damnation of Faust, shows them to have a certain strong character. In Georges Bizet's Carmen (1838-1875), it is reminiscent of the fife (the primitive one-piece flute of military bands). Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) makes the most of it at the beginning of his Concerto in G for piano and orchestra.

Expressive possibilities

Over the years, its expressive possibilities have developed, which has led to an increase in its functions. It can give the impression of hearing a single instrument, while continuing the melodic line of the large flute. Maurice Ravel gives a superb example of this in Daphnis et Chloé, with the sequence given successively to the piccolo, the large flute and the flute in G.

Discover Sight-O, the first online method of Sight-reading. The 508 original exercises for
the Piccolo are ultra progressive, for all levels. Thanks to Sight-O's animated Cache , you will learn progressively and in a good mood, to improve your score reading.

THE AUTHOR OF THE EXERCISES

Pierre Boutin

PIERRE BOUTIN

Saxophone teacher with a Certificate of Proficiency. Conductor and composer, former school director. Member of the Saxophone Quartet of France.

THE REFFERENT PROFESSOR

Pierre Caron

PIERRE CARON

Flute and Piccolo teacher, holder of the Certificat d'Aptitude. Principal flute of the Republican Guard Orchestra.

Les instruments

Piccolo

Le Piccolo

Appartenant à la famille de la flûte traversière, le Piccolo est un instrument à vent et très précisément un Bois (qui peut-être aussi en métal). Également appelé “petite flûte”, l’instrument mesure la moitié de la taille de la grande flûte. Découvrons le Piccolo.

L’instrument

Il peut-être en Ut et plus rarement en Ré bémol, et sera dans ce cas qualifié d’instrument transpositeur. C’est l’instrument le plus aigu de l’orchestre symphonique. Par sa couleur particulière, il double souvent la grande flûte à l’octave supérieur et son timbre est très perçant dans les tutti, ce qui augmente l’éclat orchestral. Mais dans le registre grave, il est qualifié de “chancelant” et “fragile”, d’après les traités d’instrumentation.

Le Piccolo dans le répertoire

C. W. Gluck (1714-1787), qui l’introduit dans ses opéras, l’appelle “petit flageolet”. Depuis,  L. V. Beethoven (1770-1827) lui a confié un rôle à caractère indépendant dans “l’Orage” de sa Symphonie Pastorale. D’autres compositeurs s’intéressent à son timbre dominant et lui écrivent des pièces de musique concertante. La chanson de fin de repas dite “chanson à boire” du Freischütz de Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826), montre une ironie piquante à travers des trilles de deux piccolos. Hector Berlioz (1803-1869), dans sa Symphonie fantastique et sa Damnation de Faust leur fait transparaître un certain caractère bien trempé. Dans Carmen de Georges Bizet (1838-1875), il fait penser au fifre (flûte monobloc primitive des fanfares militaires). Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) l’exploite de la meilleure manière au début de son Concerto en Sol pour piano et orchestre.

Possibilités expressives

Au fil des ans, ses possibilités expressives se sont développées, ce qui a provoqué un accroissement de ses fonctions. Il peut donner l’impression d’entendre un seul instrument, tout en continuant la ligne mélodique de la grande flûte. Maurice Ravel en donne un superbe exemple dans Daphnis et Chloé, avec l’enchaînement confié successivement au piccolo, à la grande flûte et à la flûte en Sol.

Découvrez Sight-O, première méthode en ligne de déchiffrage. Les 508 exercices originaux pour
le Piccolo sont ultra progressifs, pour tous les niveaux. Grâce au Cache animé de Sight-O, vous apprendrez progressivement et dans la bonne humeur, à améliorer votre lecture de partition.

 

 

L'auteur des exercices

Pierre Boutin

Professeur de Saxophone titulaire du Certificat d’Aptitude. Chef d’orchestre et compositeur, ancien directeur d’établissement. Membre du Quatuor de Saxophones de France.

Pierre Caron

LE PROFESSEUR RÉFÉRENT

Pierre Caron

Professeur de Flûte et Piccolo, titulaire du Certificat d’Aptitude. Flûte solo de l’Orchestre de la Garde Républicaine.