The instruments

Flute

The Flute

The Flute is a wind instrument of the Woodwind family. Its position is different from other flutes, "crossing" the mouth to the right. Its keywork was invented by Theobald Boehm (1794-1881) in 1832. It is known as the Great C Flute, and is made of wood or metal. The sound principle is an evolved form of the "whistle".

Origins

Its origins go back to prehistoric times: the pan flute (7th century BC), the recorder (14th century). And nowadays: the G, Bass and Octave Flutes. The sound comes from the air vibrated by the bevel at the edge of the mouthpiece.

Historical development

Its use shines in all styles of music. It appeared in the early Middle Ages, mentioned in the poems of Guillaume de Machaut (1300?-1377), giving it the gentle name of "Fleuthe traversaine". During the Renaissance, it was made up of a single section and six holes of very similar diameter. It was around 1660 that its last evolution (attributed to Hotteterre (1673-1763)) began, leading to the present day.

Flute

Repertoire and composers

It seems that J. B. Lully (1632-1687) was one of the first, if not the first, to use the flute in the orchestra for its sound and virtuosity in "The Triumph of Love", a ballet written in 1672. It was after hearing the great flutist Pierre Gabriel Buffardin (1690-1768) in Dresden in 1717 that J. S. Bach began to write for this instrument. Johann Joachim Quantz (1697-1773) is credited with many innovations in instrument making. Johann George Tromlitz (1725-1805) is also credited with replacing the closed boards with open ones.

Its poetic feeling is associated with magical powers, the "Magic Flute" by W. A. Mozart (1756-1791) or "The Pied Piper of Hamelin" by the Grimm brothers.

Discover Sight-O, the first online method of Sight-reading. The 568 original exercises for the flute are ultra progressive, for all levels. Thanks to Sight-O's animated Cache , you will learn progressively and in a good mood, to improve your score reading.

THE AUTHOR OF THE EXERCISES

Pierre Boutin

PIERRE BOUTIN

Saxophone teacher with a Certificate of Proficiency. Conductor and composer, former school director. Member of the Saxophone Quartet of France.

THE REFFERENT PROFESSOR

Pierre Caron

PIERRE CARON

Flute and Piccolo teacher, holder of the Certificat d'Aptitude. Principal flute of the Republican Guard Orchestra.

Les instruments

Flute

La Flûte traversière

La Flûte traversière est un Instrument à vent de la famille des Bois. Sa position est différente des autres Flûtes, “ traversant ” la bouche vers la droite. Son clétage est une invention de Théobald Boehm (1794-1881), en 1832. Elle est dite grande Flûte en Ut, et est fabriquée en bois ou en métal. Le principe du son est une forme évoluée du “ sifflet ”.

Origines

Son origine remonte à la préhistoire: la Flute de pan (VIIème s. av. J.C.), à bec (XIVème s.). Et de nos jours: les Flûtes en Sol, basse et octobasse. Le son provient de l’air mis en vibration par le biseau au bord de l’embouchure.

Évolution historique

Son emploi brille dans tous les styles de musique. Elle survient dès le haut Moyen Âge, évoquée dans les poèmes de Guillaume de Machaut (1300 ?-1377), lui donnant le doux nom de “ Fleuthe traversaine ”. À la Renaissance, elle est constituée d’une seule section et de 6 trous de diamètre très proches. C’est vers 1660 que débuta sa dernière évolution (attribuée à Hotteterre (1673-1763) pour la conduire jusqu’à nos jours.

 

Répertoire et compositeurs

Il semble que J. B. Lully (1632-1687) a été l’un des premiers sinon le premier, à utiliser la Flûte traversière à l’orchestre pour ses qualités de son et de virtuosité dans “ Le triomphe de l’amour ”, ballet écrit en 1672. C’est après avoir entendu à Dresde en 1717, le grand flûtiste Pierre Gabriel Buffardin (1690-1768), que J. S. Bach commença à écrire pour cet instrument. On attribue à Johann Joachim Quantz (1697-1773) d’avoir apporté de multiples innovations en matière de facture instrumentale. Et à Johann George Tromlitz (1725-1805), qui remplaça les plateaux fermés par des plateaux ouverts.

Son sentiment poétique qu’elle dégage est associé à des pouvoirs magiques, La “Flûte enchantée” de W. A. Mozart (1756-1791) ou “ Le joueur de Flûte de Hamelin ” des frères Grimm.

Découvrez Sight-O, première méthode en ligne de déchiffrage. Les 568 exercices originaux pour la Flûte traversière sont ultra progressifs, pour tous les niveaux. Grâce au Cache animé de Sight-O, vous apprendrez progressivement et dans la bonne humeur, à améliorer votre lecture de partition.

L'auteur des exercices

Pierre Boutin

Professeur de Saxophone titulaire du Certificat d’Aptitude. Chef d’orchestre et compositeur, ancien directeur d’établissement. Membre du Quatuor de Saxophones de France.

Pierre Caron

LE PROFESSEUR RÉFÉRENT

Pierre Caron

Professeur de Flûte et Piccolo, titulaire du Certificat d’Aptitude. Flûte solo de l’Orchestre de la Garde Républicaine.